Auburn Year 2

Here’s to Two

“Love is friendship that has caught fire. It is quiet understanding, mutual confidence, sharing and forgiving. It is loyalty through good and bad times. It settles for less than perfection and makes allowances for human weaknesses.” — Anne Landers

Yesterday marked two years of dating my best friend. Sometimes, I can’t believe it has been that long. Other times, it feels like i met him yesterday. He is my favorite person in the whole entire world; I am so happy that I have been able to spend the past two years with him.

This is our story.

June 2014: Jonathan had just moved to Alabama from Kentucky. Our mutual friend, Mallory, had met him through his dad’s job. She stressed to me that I just had to meet Jonathan because he was “the perfect height” for me and he was an Auburn fan. I agreed and thought nothing of it, assuming he and I would just be mutual acquaintances after we met.

June 10th 2014: He and Mallory had begun running around our neighborhood and invited me to join them. Something you should know about me: I absolutely hate running. At first, I refused. Eventually after IMG_6223some coaxing i decided I should go, just to meet him. I remember being so nervous when i started walking to Mallory’s house. After we ran– he ran; Mallory and I walked– it started raining so we decided to go get coffee and find something to do in town. After that day, I knew I wanted to be his friend and possibly more.

Fast forward through over a month of constant conversations, laughs, and having to meet my entire family on his first visit. On August 25th 2014, he told me to dress upIMG_8192 and literally nothing else. I was literally freaking out. When he got to my house to pick me up, he put a bandana around my head. I was really hoping he wasn’t some sort of serial killer at this point. We drove around for what seemed like forever and then lead me out of car and removed it from over my eyes. After the brightness of the Sun wore off, I saw a picnic set up with all of my favorite foods, flowers, and a handwritten note. After that, he asked me to be his girlfriend.

I said yes.

Our first year together was our senior year of high school, and first part of our first semester at Auburn. Since we went to different high schools, it made us appreciate being able to see each other on weekends. After graduation, we started our new adventure together at Auburn University. Freshman year was a huge change for both of us, and it was nice knowing someone else besides my roommate.

The past two years have been absolutely wonderful. I am so thankful to have such an amazing, caring person in my life. Thank you for putting up with me for 732 days and for the yummy dinner last night. Jonathan Christian, you’re the best.

 

–Mac

Follow me:

here or here or here

10 thoughts on “Here’s to Two

Let Me Know What You Think

