Uncategorized

Procrastination

On Wednesday I have huge math test that I have not studied for. Yet, here I sit, writing to you. I wanted to write about this yesterday, but a close friend from home surprised me and we went to dinner.

My second post yesterday was going to be about a girl I met on the internet Friday. No, it’s not what you think. You know those random people that send you Facebook requests and they look familiar so you add them? That’s what happened here. Anyway, she posted about the loss of a family member and her inability to cope. I have and seen others suffer from losses, but never felt the need to reach out before. For some reason, I had this overwhelming sense to send this girl a message. I am not what some call a “people person” so this experience scared me. The feeling continued pushing until finally, I sent this message:

Hi, I know you don’t really know me and this is really awkward but I felt like I should send you a message. Why? I’m not completely sure. I understand what you’re going through. I’m so sorry for your loss by the way. My great-grandmother passed away in November, and my entire family was devastated. I guess I just wanted to let you know you are not alone and I’m here if you want to talk about it or anything, books, movies, whatever. I know you probably don’t want to talk to basically a complete stranger {Again, I know this is really weird, but I just felt compelled to do this. If you knew me, you would know this is way out of my comfort zone.}

“You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” — Winnie the Pooh . I too love anything Disney.

Anyway, sorry again for the awkwardness. Mary Mac

Within a few minutes, she responded. She thanked me for the message and said she really needed some words of encouragement at that time. We exchanged a few more messages and eventually phone numbers.

I guess the point of this post is to say even if something scares you, try to do it anyway. Make that one thing be your, ” Oh, why not? What the hell, let’s see what happens!” for the day.You never know who’s day you will brighten or what someone else is going through.

I hope everyone has a fantastic day!

Mac

11 thoughts on “Procrastination

  1. Oh, why not leave a comment to a total stranger…. πŸ™‚ I think it’s really awesome to sometimes do something out of nowhere. And really, you never know where it might lead you (hopefully to a good place). πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am a huge procrastinator! I always say I’m a procrastinator at heart lol.

    But this post is very touching. Words of encouragement from someone you don’t know is always a good pick me up. I am glad you gave it the “oh what the hell, why not” and made someone smile. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that you reached out to a complete stranger to offer comfort. It shows that it makes us feel good when we do things for others and it doesn’t have to be anything big either. I hope your example inspires others to follow their inclinations.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I would say I procrastinate, but only when the thing I’m “supposed” to do matters a lot to me like writing and stuff like that. Otherwise usually I just like getting things over with, like homework, cleaning, (all the boring stuff). Of course I also do fall down in the dark pits of youtube and Netflix occasionally, but I wouldn’t say I’m the worst at it:P

    Liked by 1 person

Let Me Know What You Think

